Skip to content

Meet our Minnesota PGA Professionals

January 27, 2014

Our PGA profile this month is:  Bryan Skavnak, 2013 Junior Golf Leader

Bryan Skavnak

Bryan Skavnak

The PGA Junior Golf Leader Award is given to the golf professional that has been a leader in junior golf programming and continues to provide opportunities for juniors to learn and play the game of golf.

This year’s recipient, Bryan Skavnak, has been the PGA Director of Instruction at Parkers Lake Golf Center in Plymouth, Minnesota since 2010, where he owns and operates the Bryan Skavak Golf Academy.

For fifteen years Bryan’s Academy has taught kids and adults the game of golf stressing the importance of how to have more fun, smile more and having the confidence to perform exceptionally.  As a US Kids Golf top 50 master kids teacher, Bryan is also an inspiring speaker and writer, having authored the golf book, “The Happiest Golfer”.

Bryan is also founder of the popular parent-child golf event, “The Daddy Caddy and always uses humor and fun in his teaching that everyone relate to.  You only have to here a few of the parents quotes, like “extremely positive role model for kids” or “works hard to know his students and his easy-going personality really engages kids” to see why he is so well-liked.

What year did you become a PGA Professional?

2000 and became a PGA member in 2005.

What was your motivation to become a PGA Professional?

I started teaching Park and Rec golf classes in college and I really liked working with kids. Plus, I liked the idea of being creative in what I offer (class-wise). And I got a killer farmer’s tan.

How do you believe you are growing the game of golf?
I try to expand outside of the usual mechanics of golf. To me, golf is about relationships and the people involved. I always tell my classes that it doesn’t matter to me if they ever get great at golf. I just want them to be good to people around them. If we can crush the myths of what people think golf is, then we’ll have a lot more success in getting people to play.

Who has had the greatest impact on your career?

My mom. She died a few years ago and when she did, I wrote a letter to all my students about her. It made me real in their eyes and started this explosion of kids and families realizing how important everything surrounding golf can be. People, memories, relationships, laughter…they matter. Not scores. Ever since then, my goal has been to spread happiness through golf. My mom gave me the perspective to do just that.

When you are not golfing, how do you like to spend your day?

I love live music and I love writing. Building a Lego Star Wars set with my son is pretty darn cool too.

If you could play any course in the world, which one would it be and who would complete your foursome?

I would like to play Augusta National with my dad, my college roomie, and Justin Timberlake.

Congratulations Byran and thank you for all you do to grow the game of golf!

The Minnesota Section PGA consists of PGA Professionals who are experts in the game and business of golf. Our mission is to promote the enjoyment and involvement of the game of golf and to contribute to its growth by providing services to golf professionals, the golf industry, people who play golf or would like to start playing golf. PGA Section Offices oversee the 41 geographic regions throughout the United States and provide the grass-roots network for the nation’s 25 million amateur golfers and with the PGA’s 27,000 members.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

