Skip to content

Jon DuToit Preparing for Minnesota State Open Golf Tournament

July 22, 2014

Catching Up With Minnesota’s State Open Defending

Champion

 

Jon DuToit began swinging a golf club at the age of two. Now he’s seeking Minnesota State Open Championship number two. We caught up with the reigning champ this week to talk influences, life as a Gopher and his future plans.

Q. When did you start playing golf and why?Jon DuToit Minnesota Golf

A. I started to swing the club when I was two but really got into it when I hit grade school. It was so much fun and I just couldn’t get enough of it.

Q. Who has had the biggest inspiration on your game?

A. My mom has had the biggest influence on my golf game because she has taught me that it’s all about having fun and enjoying it no matter if you win or lose. God has blessed me with so much and I am thankful for that every single day. To me it’s not about winning golf tournaments but about being a good person through the good times and bad times. I just enjoy the process of what it takes to try and be better as a golfer and as a person. Winning or losing, that’s not important to me.

Q. What did it mean to you to win the Minnesota State Open last year?

A. It meant a lot for me to win the state open last year because it shows me that I can compete with the best players. Clayton and Sammy are two of the state’s best players so for me just to be in the last group was very exciting and I didn’t know how I would handle it. I guess when I am in pressure situations down the road I know that I have been there before and it will just make me more of a complete player and person. Being the defending champion is something that will be very fun. Do I expect to repeat? Haha no but if I can continue to see positives in my game and have some fun, I’ll be happy regardless.

Q. How is your game as you prepare to defend the title?

A. My game is certainly coming around. I have made some minor adjustments with my swing just to be more consistent. Nothing major but just some small things that feel really good to me. The days when it’s on it feels really good. I still have a lot of work to get to where I want to be but like I said before it’s all a process and one that I enjoy no matter the outcome.

Q. How was your golf season with the Gophers? Any highlights?

A. The past season with the Gophers was certainly one to remember. I didn’t play as well as I would have liked but I learned a lot about myself and know what I have to work on. I was happy for all of the guys on the team for such a fun year. The highlight was certainly winning the Big Ten championship as a team. Something I’ll never forget and the highlight of the year for me was teammate Jon Trasamar making a 50 foot bomb on the last hole to basically seal the Big Ten title for us.

Q. How is your summer going? 

A. Summer is going really well for me. Like I said before I am making some minor changes with my game to become more consistent all around. It’s something I really enjoy working on and will help me in the future. The highlight of the summer was qualifying for the U.S. Amateur at my home course, the Chaska Town Course. My whole family was there to watch so it was cool to share that moment with them. It’ll be a fun learning experience going to my first U.S. Amateur and I’m looking forward to see how I handle it.

Q. Looking forward to the Gopher season next year…what should we expect from the team and what are your goals?

A. The next year for the Gophers will look a little bit different as we lose two very important players that helped us a lot last year. We will be really young and I am looking forward to trying to help the four new freshman and sophomores adjust to the whole college golf thing. We have a lot of talent on the team but since we will be a bit younger, I think it will take a little bit of time – but certainly doesn’t mean we can’t do similar things as last year. It’ll be a very fun year with a lot of new faces, which is always a good time. A goal for me is just trying to be more consistent by working on what I have been working on this summer. Just focus on the things that I can control and try to become a better person and golfer.

Q. What are your goals for the future – do you plan on turning pro?

A. You know, plans for my future are something I don’t even know yet. I have two years left to decide if I want to turn pro or not. I am going to have to get a lot more consistent like I said and much better all around. I wouldn’t mind staying an amateur and getting a job in business when I graduate because that is certainly something I would be happy with.

The Minnesota State Open begins Friday, July 25 at Bunker Hills Golf Club.

The Minnesota Section PGA consists of PGA Professionals who are experts in the game and business of golf. Our mission is to promote the enjoyment and involvement of the game of golf and to contribute to its growth by providing services to golf professionals, the golf industry, and people who play golf or would like to start playing golf. PGA Section Offices oversee the 41 geographic regions throughout the United States and provide the grass-roots network for the nation’s 25 million amateur golfers with the PGA’s 27,000 members.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

