Skip to content

Minnesota Section PGA Board of Directors Spotlight

August 11, 2015

Each month, we will profile a member of the Minnesota Section PGA Board of Directors. The board is comprised of 13 individuals that work tirelessly and extremely hard to service the members of the Section as well as grow the game of golf in the state of Minnesota.

Our profile for the month of August is: Greg McCullough, Dakota Chapter Director and Head Professional at Edgewood Municipal GC

What year did you join the board of directors?
This is my second term as a Dakota Chapter representative on the board. I was on the board for 4 years in the mid 2000’s, and this is my first year back on the board again.

When and what made you decide being a PGA professional was what you wanted to do?
My start as a professional happened because I went to a Fargo Country Club with a friend who was applying for a job. After his interview with the professional, who I knew, he asked me what I was doing when I graduated college. He offered me an assistants job while I was there, and I accepted. I have always loved golf, but I never thought it would end up being my career.

What is the biggest factor or area of improvement towards growing and promoting golf in Minnesota?
To continue to grow the game, I believe the game needs to evolve. More practice facilities with driving ranges and courses with the ability to have 3, 6, and 9 hole loops is a must as well as make the game fun.

What is the best advice ever given to you?
Find a job you love to do. Sounds simple, but not many people are lucky enough to find it.

Excluding the game of golf, what do you love to do when not around the course?
I am a sports junky and our family loves to go to any game. Our two daughters grew up playing soccer, and we still have a daughter playing college soccer; so in the fall we are at every game possible.

Greg, thank you for all you do for the Section and helping promote the game of golf.

The Minnesota Section PGA consists of PGA Professionals who are experts in the game and business of golf. Our mission is to promote the enjoyment and involvement of the game of golf and to contribute to its growth by providing services to golf professionals, the golf industry, people who play golf or would like to start playing golf. PGA Section Offices oversee the 41 geographic regions throughout the United States and provide the grass-roots network for the nation’s 25 million amateur golfers and with the PGA’s 27,000 members.

No comments yet

Leave a comment