Skip to content

Meet Our Minnesota PGA Award Winners

February 14, 2013

Get to Know our Minnesota PGA Section Award Winners

Each month, we’re putting a much-deserved spotlight on our Minnesota PGA members who have been honored with a variety of awards. Our profile for this month is:

Thomas Beaudry – 2012 Facility Promoter, ResortTom Beaudry

Tom is currently the General Manager at The Wilderness at Fortune Bay. This was Tom’s first time receiving this award. 

What year did you turn professional?

2001

What was your motivation to become a PGA professional?

I wanted to do something I enjoyed for a living.

How are you growing the game of golf?

We work with the local Boys & Girls Club on our junior program for the underprivileged kids on the reservation. I also started working with the Mesabi Thunder/Special Olympians twice a year. I was on the local school board and successfully lobbied to get a girls golf team back in Cook. I also hand out a free logo ball to any junior that stops into the restaurant and I ask if they play golf yet. If they say no, I then hand them a ball and, in front of their parents, tell them to ask their parents for a set of clubs to go with the logo ball 🙂 I mention to the parents of girls how attainable golf scholarships are and encourage them to get their daughters involved in golf. I allow local golf coaches to bring over their teams and I help them out on the driving range.

What was your greatest moment in golf?

Making a double eagle on a 500 yard par 5 on the Ocean Course at Fripp Island with my wife.

Who has had the greatest impact on your career?

My first boss in the business, Bill Hall. He told me to play as much golf and practice as much as possible at that point in my career. I was just an assistant with no kids and I took his advice. With added responsibility in my job and now having kids, I have never been able to play that much golf since.

Besides golf, what else do you enjoy?

Spending time with my wife and two daughters outdoors camping, fishing, hunting, skiing, etc.

If you could play any course in the world, which one would it be and who would complete your foursome?

Old Head with Jesus, Clint Eastwood, and Will Ferrell.

Congratulations Tom on an outstanding year playing golf and for being a role model in the Minnesota golf community.

The Minnesota Section PGA consists of PGA Professionals who are experts in the game and business of golf. Our mission is to promote the enjoyment and involvement of the game of golf and to contribute to its growth by providing services to golf professionals, the golf industry, people who play golf or would like to start playing golf. PGA Section Offices oversee the 41 geographic regions throughout the United States and provide the grass-roots network for the nation’s 25 million amateur golfers and with the PGA’s 27,000 members.

No comments yet

Leave a comment